Australian time zones and daylight saving on Sterling Healthcare Resourcing

Australian time zones and daylight saving

Australia is divided into three separate time zones:

Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) – UTC +10

  • Queensland
  • New South Wales (except Broken Hill)
  • Victoria
  • Tasmania
  • Australian Capital Territory

Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT) – UTC +9.5

  • South Australia
  • Northern Territory
  • Town of Broken Hill in western New South Wales

Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) – UTC +8

  • Western Australia

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of advancing clocks one hour during the warmer months of the year.

In Australia, daylight saving is observed in New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania, and the Australian Capital Territory. Daylight saving is not observed in Queensland, the Northern Territory or Western Australia.

Daylight Saving Time begins at 2am on the first Sunday in October, when clocks are put forward one hour. It ends at 2am (which is 3am Daylight Saving Time) on the first Sunday in April, when clocks are put back one hour.

Where daylight saving is observed, AEDT is equal to UTC +11 and ACDT is equal to UTC+10.5.

Live in Australia