Australian climate on Sterling Healthcare Resourcing

Australian climate

Australia experiences a variety of climates due to its size. There are six climatic zones which translates as two main seasonal patterns.

There is a Summer – Autumn – Winter – Spring pattern in the Temperate zone, and a Wet – Dry pattern in the tropical north and subtropical zones.

The Temperate zone occupies the coastal hinterland of New South Wales, much of Victoria, Tasmania, the south-eastern corner of South Australia and the south-west of Western Australia. The seasons go in the following sequence:

  • Summer: December to February
  • Autumn: March to May
  • Winter: June to August
  • Spring: September to November

This means that the Australian Christmas takes place at the height of summer, and that the mid-year break for students happens in winter.

The tropical regions of Australia have high temperatures, high humidity and distinct wet and dry seasons.

The wet season lasts about between November and March. It is hotter than the dry season, with temperatures between 30 and 50 degrees Celsius. The dry season lasts between April and October. Temperatures are lower and the skies are generally clearer during the dry. The average temperature is around 20 degrees Celsius.

Live in Australia